Benefits of blogging

In searching for statistics about blogging I stumbled onto this article which is interesting and I’ll enter my own personal view of each of their items. The indented material is directly from the article and my personal rating are the colored texts.

#1. You will  become a better writer YES

Just the discipline of sitting down and writing will improve your writing skills. Thinking and planning doesn’t  cut it…action and doing does! agree

#2. Your video skills will improve NO

#3. You will learn YES

To write you have to read. There is a very distinct direct bonus from this activity. You will learn …a lot! YES, Definitely

#4. Visibility – People will hear about you JUST BARELY

#5. Expert status N/A

#6. Become a champion researcher YES

You will also find the best ways to obtain information as you hunt down information and resources for your blog. You will identify global bloggers, resources and experts that will provide the insights and information you need to provide ongoing value to your readers. this might be the best part

#7. Power networker NO

#8. Your memory will improve Maybe

#9. Your creativity will increase Maybe

#10. Synergizes and Synthesizes Focus YES

The act of writing and expressing yourself online will provide you with internal and external feedback that sharpens the intuition and focuses your mind. absolutely The benefits of a social interactive web is that it taps into the global mind that will provide you with the feedback loop that will sharpen and amplify your purpose and passion if you are willing to listen. I see how it could but not my expectation

Now all the stuff above is just the text from the article and my ratings but the next quote is interesting and I’ll elaborate:

 Blogging as Self Fulfillment
Blogging for me has been a path to not only to self expression but self fulfillment that has become a journey of self discovery. I have found what works for me and what doesn’t. I write about topics that resonate with my soul and purpose while keeping focused and relevant.

These elements combined have provided an experience that has both changed me and others around me, both in the physical and cyber world. It is an exciting time to live where you can connect to your global tribe with rich multimedia that transcends time and place.

The first paragraph certainly applies, but as to “journey of self discovery” – hardly (sounds kinda new age-y for me). At this point in my life writing 100 posts (or even as I continue to 500) is unlikely to change my life (or any self discoveries) but it is an amusing pasttime, more or less the same as geodashing, but without the carbon emissions of all the driving. And cheaper, too!

The second paragraph doesn’t really apply for the simple reason that I’m not trying to connect to my “global tribe” and not worrying very much about “rich multimedia” (and I don’t even understand what “transcends time and place” means). Instead of a global tribe I have a virtual tribe, my imaginary readers who won’t object to my writing style (obviously verbose) or content (somewhat controversial) or my personal anecdotes (boring to any reader). So it’s the perfect conversation to have since my virtual readers are so pleasantly in sync with what I’m writing. Unlike just talking to myself going through the motions of creating material that will be public (and not too embarrassing) means I’m expressing myself very differently than I would to an invisible meatworld audience.

So this is sorta interesting, to see what others say about blogging and what applies to me (or to you, if you want to try this exercise).

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in musing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Benefits of blogging

Leave a Reply

