Loved this – unusual words

All kinds of odd tidbits in the news, but this one caught my eye; I hope the link doesn’t go stale (as President Obama said at the correspondents’ dinner, all the news that’s fit to link). Here, this link may be more permanent. This comes from a graphic design and illustration studio based in Cork City, Ireland. They have a list of 26 unusual words, A-Z (are these real) with their graphical interpretation. A couple I like are (go to the site to see the graphics):

Enantiodromia – The changing of something into its opposite (aka, Fox News, oh Rupert, please don’t sic Homeland Security on me as I’m hoping free speech still exists).

Gorgonize – To have a paralyzying or mesmerizing effect on: Stupify or Petrify (me, in my excessively long posts).

Montivagant – Wandering over hills and mountains (me, geodashing in Wyoming), seems to be some disagreement over the spelling, mundivagant.

Scripturient – Possessing a violent desire to write (me, and a lot of other bloggers, esp. this one)

Ultracrepidarian – A person who gives opinions and advice on matters outside of one’s knowledge (oh, that one hurts) – the graphics for this is great, please go take a look.

and

Yonderly – Mentally or emotionally distant; absent-minded (again a little too close to home as as some around me will attest)

The others are very funny too but I’m not sure how much I can quote in my post without violating their implied copyright, so please go read the article or website itself as you may find a few good words you’ll want to use (or be embarrassed by).

Thanks to The Project Twins!

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in attempt at humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

