Thomas Paine antipicated me and blogging

I love this guy, can’t believe he was writing so long ago. In The Age of Reason he has tons of great soundbites, but here is one I’ll have to use in my blogging:

Having now extended the subject to a greater length than I first intended, I shall bring it to a close by abstracting a summary from the whole.

Next time you find me getting so wordy just repeat this to me ten times!

I also can’t resist quoting this paragraph (of the many that are great):

In every point of view in which those things called miracles can be placed and considered, the reality of them is improbable, and their existence unnecessary. They would not, as before observed answer any useful purpose, even if they were true; for it is more difficult to obtain belief to a miracle, than to a principle evidently moral, without any miracle. Moral principle speaks universally for itself. Miracle could be but a thing of the moment and seen but by a few; after this it requires a transfer of faith from God to man, to believe a miracle upon man’s report. Instead, therefore, of admitting the recitals of miracles as evidence of any system of religion being true, they ought to be considered as symptoms of its being fabulous. It is necessary to the full and upright character of truth, that it rejects the crutch; and it is consistent with the character of fable, to seek the aid that truth rejects. Thus much for mystery and miracle.

See, Glen you should read this guy completely before you quote him so much as your attacks on Obama.

Also note the use of fabulous (which he also includes in his title). When I first saw this I interpreted it as the more modern meaning, but really the older meaning (Barely credible; astonishing. or, Of the nature of a fable or myth; legendary) is how Paine uses it. So now I can say I think Glen Beck or FauxNews or Mittens is just fabulous. πŸ˜€Β  [I wish there were a way to make this sound like Billy Crystal saying ‘mahvellus’ since that tone of voice really would add to ‘fabulous’]

btw: Here is the full title of Paine’s book.

THE

AGE OF REASON:

BEING

AN INVESTIGATION

OF

TRUE AND FABULOUS

THEOLOGY.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in attempt at humor, comment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thomas Paine antipicated me and blogging

  1. wfeigenson says:

    I think this post was simply maaavelous. Fabulous too, but in the current context.

    • dmill96 says:

      I figured you could do it in Billy Crystal voice, which should be easy since you’re from Neuw Yoarwk. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

