500.91 virtual miles on PCT

Hurray! I finally made >500 miles on treadmill that I’m using as a virtual hike on the PCT (Pacific Crest Trail). This is the 748th day of my virtual trip. Here’s an image of approximately where I am, crossing the Feather River in northern California.

I didn’t start PCT way down south at Mexican border but instead at the Whitney Portal. I climbed up to the pass, then to summit, and then descended to west to connect with the JMT (John Muir Trail). I took that to Yosemite Valley. I’d expected that would be as far as I’d sustain my virtual trip, but I keep going. So I started on the PCT in Toulumne Meadows heading north, eventually crossing I-80 at Donner Summit (another milestone where I expected I’d quit exercising), and continued north from there. Now it looks like I might actually get through northern California to Oregon.

I have actually backpacked parts of this route so I know first-hand what some of it is like. I found a GPS track for the entire route and after converting the format loaded that into my Delorme Topo map software. There I can convert linear distance on the treadmill into location along the trail. I found numerous photos for the locations I was at and these, plus views from Google Earth and some memories, provided my virtual experience.

So much to my surprise I’ve stuck with this (my longest sustained indoor exercising) so the virtual trip must be working to keep up my enthusiasm for otherwise boring exercising.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 500.91 virtual miles on PCT

  1. Pingback: 1017.32 virtual miles on PCT; halfway across country on virtual bike | dailydouq

Leave a Reply

