100 Posts

Hurrah and amazing! In the 48 days I’ve had this blog I’ve now done 100 posts. That’s a fairly sustained effort at writing what almost no one will read. But as I indicated in my early posts my goal is not to get crowd adulation but instead to use blogging as a method of recording what I’m thinking about, as a history I can someday review, so I’m succeeding at my goal.

Now in anticipation of this milestone I attempted to find some statistics about blogging in general. Ancedotally it’s clear that many of the blogs on the net never achieve either 100 posts or 48 days of posting but I can’t find any real stats on this. In fact everything about blogging seems to be crude estimates at best. WordPress.com, this minute, says it has 425,776 bloggers and that’s just one site. One site claims there are 178M blogs (another says 70M WordPress blogs, 39M tumblr blogs; another says 164M total blogs). This site has quite a few statistics, with an interesting one being 27% blog 30-300 times per month and 18% of all blogs are in the “personal musings” category and only 13% of bloggers are spending 10-40+ hours per week (approximately my category).

What I can’t find is how many people start blogging and then quit after a fairly brief time, or conversely how many bloggers have sustained their interest for some particular amount of time (like the three months or more I’ve spent). But my feeling is, based on the usual belief in the 80:20 rule that I’ve probably exceeded the vast majority of bloggers in both number of posts or number of days with posts.

Now as another measure my hobby geodashing has a similar pattern (to what I hypothesize about blogging). A fairly large number of people try it, but very few sustain it. In fact in geodashing there are just a handful of people who have sustained that activity over more than a year. But as measured in geodashing or hypothesized from the 80:20 rule the vast majority of geodashes are done by the long-timers.

So this has been an interesting personal experiment. Projecting forward I feel I will probably reduce my quantity of posts for a very simple reason – this is taking up too much time and I actually do have other things to do. The challenge for me will be how to cut back a bit, but not altogether. At my current rate I would probably do over 800 posts in my first year and that seems unlikely so I’m setting a lower goal, 500 posts in my first year and to at least stick with it for a year. In my life I have to set numeric goals and measure them to sustain any non-mandatory activity so I’ll continue, from time to time to record some milestones in this blog.

p.s. Here are some more stats, and somewhat more up-to-date than the next source. And some more.

p.s.1. Here are some more interesting statistics, even if a bit dated. One interesting bit is the relatively high fractions of bloggers who blog for some economic reason which certainly doesn’t include me. Here’s just a few stats that either match or disagree with what I’m doing.

Demographics of bloggers:

  • Two-thirds are male YES
  • 60% are 18-44 NO
  • 75% have college degrees YES
  • 40% have graduate degrees YES
  • More than half are married YES

Motivations of bloggers:

  • 70% of all respondents say that personal satisfaction is a way they measure the success of their blog YES
  • Bloggers are most likely to describe themselves as “sincere” (75%). YES
  • 71% say they blog at least in part in order to speak their minds. YES
  • 72% say they blog in order to share their expertise. ONLY A LITTLE
  • 61% say they blog in order to supplement their income. NO
  • 53% of professional bloggers are interested in attracting new clients from blogging. NO
  • 63% of respondents say that blogging has led them to become more involved with things they’re passionate about as a result of blogging. YES
  • Respondents report that blogging has had chiefly positive impacts on their personal lives; just 6% say that relationships with friends or family members have suffered as a result of blogging. YES
  • 35% – including 43% of part-timers – plan to one day publish a book. YES

The how of blogging

  • 15% of bloggers spend 10 or more hours each week blogging. YES
  • One in five bloggers report updating on a daily basis. YES
  • 13% say that they built their blogs themselves from scratch. NO
  • 59% of respondents use a free third party hosting service. YES
  • Bloggers participate in an average of 5 activities to drive traffic to their blogs.
About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in musing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

