Too many posts in ToDo list

When I first started blogging I had a few ideas but quickly ran dry. I usually use news articles or other posts as a seed of the idea I want to discuss. Some of these I can do relatively quickly but others I want to work through more carefully. So I replaced my manual list with WordPress’ drafts feature. So now I see something that tickles my fancy and scribble a few notes to myself, maybe a few sentences of the post, include of few URLs of what I was reading and maybe a few more I found with searches and then save as a draft. As a consequence I now have a backlog of 26 posts to do and I’m creating more ToDo’s quicker than I get them done (as I have always found with every ToDo list I have). So I’m certainly not going to run dry now, but who knows if I’ll ever get back and even do a third of that backlog.

As part of my effort I also started reading a lot more. I fiddled with a couple of syndication readers and quickly found myself overwhelmed. All of the comments or likes I get I follow up and often add these to my reader lists so that too is growing and now reading is taking so much time I have less for writing, not to mention all that reading is generating more of these embryonic posts accumulating in my backlog.

So I’m finding out first-hand how blogging can become an addiction, driving all other activities to the background. That’s fine for now, but at some point I have to find some balance. I also think this demonstrates that the more one puts into a task the more one gets out of it and so I’m actually surprised at how interesting this can be. There are some fascinating writers out there and as I read others I begin to realize how puny my own efforts are.

So another day, another zillions posts.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too many posts in ToDo list

  1. Your are spot on with this. Reading HAS taken prescedence over the writing, but the ideas, information, perspectives mixed in with the activist in me—goodness, it’s overwhelming. I AM going to have to back off; my mind (and body for that matter) won’t take it with so little energy in reserve. Thanks for the providing me with such enjoyment and making me smile! Love, LOVE the science & engineering bits. I’m in IT myself—one of the minority women in the field.

    • dmill96 says:

      One of my earliest posts was that everyone was writing and no one was reading. Perhaps that was a bit naive of me. Based on brief experience it seems that once one is drawn into this whole process of communicating to (and from) an unknown audience it really is quite different than one might expect. It is amazing how much great stuff is out there and it certainly is a challenge to even try to consume a bit of it.

      Thanks for the comment, I’ll try to stick with science and engineering bits more than rants about stuff where there is already plenty of noise. I’m lucky to have started in some of these areas in the “early days” and thus maybe can provide a little perspective. Every bit of technology today has roots that can often stretch many decades into the past so perhaps I can add a little.

      I know women are still today a smaller fraction of IT world than fraction of the general population but in my 40 years I’ve seen quite a (positive) shift in that. When I was in college with only a small fraction of the students were women and frankly they were a lot smarter than the guys, because they had to be really dedicated to overcome some of the resistance. When I visited my college recently, about 30 years later, the mix was almost 50-50 and I thought that was terrific, that now women were willing to be geeks too. 🙂 IT is a good field, not just for women, but for any group since it was growing fast and it was new and thus it was more open. I just hope you get the same chances I had. While it was fun for me I really regretted that most of my last company’s “workers” were in China and old guys like me were then passing on knowledge to them rather than young people in the U.S., like I once was and was helped in my development by the old-timers. So good luck to you, under the right circumstances it can still be a good and rewarding career.

Leave a Reply

