Time for some eye candy

Once consequence of my blogging is that I’m a lot more interested in seeing other people’s blogs. And one quick observation from that is that the informal best practice, in blogging, of adding visual elements really does work. Who can resist an attractive blog, layout, design, images, illustrations. So it’s good advice to follow to spice up a blog with some visual elements.

View of Golden Gate from western San Francisco

Decades ago I worked in one of the pioneering companies for digital graphics arts (long before the Mac either had pseudo-color and any kind of graphics was still a dream in the DOS world). Unfortunately our 24bit color system cost well over $100K so it would be remarkable if any of you ever heard of it, but I’ll mention the original name, Via Video and its last name, DuPont Design Technologies.

This little digression is just to explain a point. That company employed a handful of actual artists, also pioneers as some of the earliest to get into digital graphics. And those of us on the engineering side, with some fondness for design, soon found we had very little talent for it. Anything I created on the system was amateurish and looked like the work of a 9YO (where my art learning stopped) and the real artists put together amazing work. So I learned I can appreciate good design but not create it.

So as I scan other blogs I am impressed by the work. Of course I could never duplicate it so I won’t try. But I do have a few decent photos so I’ll start tossing a few more of those in from time to time. In the time in my life where I was serious about photography I lived in Boston and so there were plenty of great places to shoot. Here everything is corn so I have to drive a thousand miles to get to anything to shoot (given my photographic interest is outdoor scenes) or go back to China. But I’ll do the best I can with what I’ve got.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

