Bread – again

Here is my latest loaf. I haven’t tasted it yet (still cooling), but I added some “sourdough” (not San Francisco) yeast mix (only hydrated minutes before doing this loaf, going to try again after the 2 days recommended for the sourdough mix to ferment), plus just for more zing a tiny bit of slightly soured milk (loads of buggies in that) to the standard Jim Lahey No-Knead long-ferment recipe. So here’s the result (should use real camera, iPod Touch photos are terrible); I’ll comment after tasting if the experiment was a success:

This is still a bit browner than I prefer, even though given the recipe’s second baking time of 15-30 minutes and I used 10 minutes (I know the oven temp is good) I’d like a bit closer to golden than brown (the interior is already done after the covered baking).

The Lahey approach creates excellent bread, better than most I can buy. But it doesn’t have the real tang of good San Francisco sourdough, which is very difficult to duplicate elsewhere. So I’m trying various experiments and mixes to see if I can get a bit closer.

I’ll let you know if I find a sweet spot and provide a sharper picture.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

