Hurrah! Kindle book refunds

Not only did Amazon allow me to fill my Christmas stocking with a new PaperWhite (I like the Fire too, but using limited battery power to make light makes tablets nearly useless for me) but now not only will the eBook prices go down but there will even be some refunds (according to this article) so I can buy some more books – oh boy! Now I just need more time to read or spend less time online.

I hope this is the beginning of the end for old pricing models on books. Hopefully we’ll move on to the next step, which is renting books, not buying them. Since getting an early Kindle I figure I’ve spent about $800 on books I’ll probably never read again, so this idea of “owning” a book is just an obsolete business model and the publishing industry is going to have to get past it. And I can’t wait!

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hurrah! Kindle book refunds

  1. Nona says:

    Google Reader is also refunding along with Amazon. Amazon is giving an automatic credit, but you have to submit a claim form to Google. Regards

Leave a Reply

