Impact of wired world – blogging is hard!

It’s interesting (to me, at least) that I wrote this post about a month ago, “Do I own this blog or does it own me?” and in that post mentioned that I had taken a pause and why. Now, about a month later my “pause” and output is even greater – why? I actually do like writing posts and I collect a new idea for a post almost every day, but nothing seems to get down on paper (or photons). Strange, after such a burst of activity when I started.

I’ve thought about lots of reasons why, not the least is that it needs to be a habit, actually nearly an obsession to post. Otherwise it’s too easy to be busy and find excuses. But the real reason seems a little deeper, it’s actually harder and therefore takes more time than I thought. When I was fanatical about a post a day, no problem, I didn’t notice that time and effort. But now, as is inevitable other things are on my mind and other activities demand my time, so somehow I never quite make it over the hump to actually get going.

Of course once I start it’s easy. And my original intent of any writing was to more thoroughly explore ideas that just bubble up. I still have all those ideas, think about them briefly, think about a post, and then get distracted with something else. OTOH, if I start the post then that idea does blossom into something more fully baked, I try to wring more life out of a passing thought, peel back a few more layers of the onion. And when done, I’m pleased (Dr. Reader, you’re welcome to get something too, but I am doing this for me, not for popularity). It is worth the effort.

Blogging is harder, than just casual daydreaming, because somehow when you try to take vague and half-baked ideas and actually say them, in phrases and sentences, the sheer act of composing the prose is slower and more deliberate. That’s the good news and the bad news. Good in that it does require more thought, bad in that it requires more time.

So I have to look for a balance. Find ways to get started because then I’ll usually finish. But find ways to not consume so much time writing there isn’t enough time for everything else. As to reading other blogs, well that’s very interesting but also time-consuming and, frankly, something that often seems to be even lower on my list of priorities than even writing. But like writing, when I do do some reading, it was worth it. So again, balance here is the key idea.

Now, as usual, I’m rush and literally have only a couple of minutes before I must do something else. Amazing, I don’t even have a job or much of any other outside imposed responsibility and I still find myself out of time.

So, as Arnold says, I’ll be back.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment, opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impact of wired world – blogging is hard!

  1. Nona says:

    Try converting sentences from Texan to English!

Leave a Reply

