I need to develop a new kind of post

For months I’ve been keeping a list of links to some sort of article (usually news) that triggers some ideas I’d like to use this soapbox to talk about. Fine. The trouble is my list gets bigger and bigger (like my todo lists) and rarely do I actually get back to those links. And when I do, whatever (to me) interesting thought rattling around in my head is now long gone. I think we (or at least me) react to tidbits in the news based on the zeitgeist of that moment, so the same tidbit evokes a completely different reaction, weeks or months later (of course that suggests, hold your tongue and age the thought a bit as a way to filter silly spur of the moment thoughts).

Anyway, I’m thinking I’d really like to process these tidbits in real-time. But how can I do that when I’m torn between: a) reading more tidbits, b) about a zillion other things on my schedule, and, c) when I do write working fairly hard to try to put together a mini-essay instead of a few random thoughts. These conflicting demands on my time just don’t work. And another factor, probably strange for most of you to understand, is that I’m not really “allowed” to do this blogging thing except when I can secretly get away with. So one tactic for doing my quick reaction posting (show the link, write a bit longer notes than I’m making now about my thoughts about the link) is to just leave a browser window open 24×7 and thus instantly be able to record the moment (of course, this ignores technical issues, like the computer is in one room and the idea-generating stimulus occurs in another, or, that machines, esp. Firefox now, crash, and, poof, my 14 hours of accumulating tidbits is now gone). But the real reason I can’t use this approach is my weird privacy requirement.

So, the best I can probably do is write a little mini-app of my own. Drop the url into it, maybe drop a few bits of the article’s text, and write my quick reaction notes. At the end of the day, go back, discard the really stupid stuff, clean up the “good” stuff, and generate a nice article on the clipboard just to quickly paste into WordPress.com.

Sounds good, now when will I get the time to do it?

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in musing, QuickReaction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I need to develop a new kind of post

  1. Pingback: Sunday QuickReaction | dailydouq

  2. dmill96 says:

    It’s too bad nobody seems to like my new format. My other articles get some positive feedback, but none of these have. I wonder why that is. The material is roughly the same as I do for other articles, just a bit short and multi-subject per post. Plus I’m getting a lot of keywords in there so you’d think that would trigger more search hits (perhaps the diversity of the term set or contradictory term sets adversely affects ranking, after all my list of adipose tissue terms has also not generated any hits and there is a ton of meaty terms in that one). Without the SE traffic I never get the initial read.

  3. Pingback: I need to develop a new kind of post – 1 | dailydouq

  4. Pingback: I need to develop a new kind of post – 2 | dailydouq

Leave a Reply

