I need to develop a new kind of post – 1

Back on 19Jan2013 I declared that I should develop a new posting strategy and since then I’ve mostly stuck to it, but I just keep drifting back to bad old ways. What I’d been doing before then was starting posts and not finishing them (I have 34 drafts) and also just accumulating URLs and short notes in my research page with assumption I’d go back and create the post.

Since my backlog just kept growing I decided to do the QuickReaction series where I do less commentary on multiple issues in a single post. These posts have not been very interesting to readers (based on clicks) and due to their multi-subject structure unlikely to get clickthrus from searches. But I don’t really care about that – I just want to stop accumulating backlog.

Another issue is that I don’t (for a couple of strange reasons) have constant access to WordPress.com so I’ve been accumulating my QuickReaction post in a MSWord document that is more accessible. And guess what, now that document has accumulated some “todos” in the form of URLs and little notes to myself to go back and finish the posts.

So this whole process is turning into the same as my physical world where I accumulate all sorts of “junk” and won’t throw any (or at least very much) of it out, so I have clutter everywhere. So hopefully today I can begin to make some headway, so I vow to:

  1. either complete or discard the “todos” in the running QuickReaction post
  2. either complete or discard a couple of the unpublished posts (let’s do them in reverse chronological order or else I’ll bog down dithering over what to do)
  3. either complete or discard a few of my Research URLs

Of course I have other tasks to do now so I won’t even get to this for a while so it’s possible I’ll make little progress (as usual, making plans but then putting it off). Amazing how I get so little done despite having lots of free time.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in QuickReaction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I need to develop a new kind of post – 1

  1. Pingback: I need to develop a new kind of post – 2 | dailydouq

Leave a Reply

