Trip report

I’ve been thinking of past trips and realizing how much I’ve forgotten. I should attempt to make a list anyway because thinking about it triggers recall.

Someone should invent a website that can last for a lifetime called whereislepttonight.com and people can record all the places they’ve been. Parents could start files for their children who will be too little to know where they’re going (like my attempts during this trip to remember where I was in Mississippi with my parents when I was 8) and then young adults take it over and update through their life. Older folks could at least attempt to reconstruct past history from whatever records they have, like what I’m doing now.

I’ve often thought that a mechanism for lifetime reporting would be useful (but not Google Glass, which is a narcissistic and stupid idea). I can remember events with people, even what they look like, but not their names (and Facebook wouldn’t help on this, had it existed decades ago). I can remember places but not their names. I will never be able to reconstruct these memories but today the means exist to record all of it. The trick is actually having this data securely last for 60-100 years and still be accessible through all the changes in technology over that time. Maybe it will happen.

Meanwhile, here’s a bit for the record books:

Places visited:

  1. KC, MO (the usual hassles driving through, didn’t stop at Arthur Byrants)
  2. Jefferson City, MO (have dim childhood memory from there, looking for ice)
  3. Cape Girardeau, MO (have teen memories from there, MA’s move)
  4. Cairo, IL (depressing, still don’t know how to pronounce it right)
  5. Paducah, KY (surprising, worth a longer visit)
  6. Nashville, TN (fun time down in The District, Elton John concert made it lively)
  7. Franklin, TN (lived up to its billing, fun walking around)
  8. Natchez Trace (definitely a nice drive, too bad it was too early in season)
  9. Tupelo, MS (funky, did go to Elvis birthplace, amazing how many people were there)
  10. Natchez, MS (Eola was interesting, tours, so-so)
  11. Bogalusa, LA (love the name, nothing there, on geodashing route)
  12. Chunchula, AL (love the name, nothing there, on geodashing route)
  13. Mobile, AL (surprisingly better than expected, finally got seafood, great shrimp)
  14. Bayou La Batre, AL (big surprise, fun to see the fishing fleet, no Bubba Gump though)
  15. Dauphin Island, AL (only real look at the Gulf)
  16. Hattiesburg, MS (still don’t know why I’ve heard of it, nothing there, had lunch)
  17. Sanatorium, MS (thought of Rick)
  18. Jackson, MS (got it going and coming, is it this one, or in TN that’s in the songs?)
  19. Vicksburg, MS (battlefield national park was more interesting than expected)
  20. Shreveport, LA (kinda a dump, definitely a bad dinner)
  21. Texarkana and Hope, AR (bypassed both, went in between)
  22. Eureka Springs, AR (turned out both better and worse than expected)
  23. Carthage, MO (better than expected early dinner)

In this case a lot of my trip will be documented at geodashing.gpsgames.org (the dashpoint reports) but that probably won’t be around forever (I wonder if the Internet archive will retain those reports forever) and my route map in DeLorme is quite accurate but that file will probably not exist and/or be readable by any software in a couple of decades. So I wonder if WordPress.com will be preserved.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trip report

  1. Nona says:

    You should really write what you can remember for each trip. I did something similar for my grandchildren. It covers my childhood and my son’s. Since we traveled a lot, I wanted to be sure he could get an answer once I am gone. Of course it is a personal story, but the sections about Germany, etc is a good historical document as he was 2 the first time and 13 the second time.
    http://getoveryouselfnkm.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/get-over-yourself-a-memoir/
    I have been to all the places you listed with the exception of Chunchula, AL. Not odd at all that you remembered the meals. My father was a history buff and we stopped at every road side momentum. His last trip was to visit me in California.

    • dmill96 says:

      I’ve tried making more detailed trip reports before and my big problem is that I lose the documents where I wrote it up (either paper or electronic). I have so many old photos (both film and electronic) that I’m filling up all available space so naturally I wish for an online location. But then, some of my “memories” are a little too private for someplace like a blog and I haven’t found a very effective online “journal” anywhere (private WordPress.com blogs sorta work but without encryption they’re still too public).

      Chunchula is an unlikely place to visit, off the main roads. We did go to 19 dashpoints and as usual these took us to some very remote places few outsiders see. This is also partly how we saw so much of the poverty of the south. We see some of that same thing in midwest, but not as severe. Going to random locations definitely gives one of view that doesn’t happen with “normal” vacations, esp. those to isolated “resorts”.

Leave a Reply

