Bought bigger tent and smaller clothes

Seems like I’m going in opposite directions – well, I am but for different reasons.

When I first went cabin-fever crazy here I just grabbed all my old backpacking stuff and threw it in the car and headed south. Turns out I was seriously under-equipped, at least where a car and gasoline move the load. So I bought a new tent, but still thinking more like a backpacker got the smallest and lightest one from REI, but went for the heavier poles since the car would be carrying the load. Worked fine for a while, but older and a little less flexibility getting in and out of small backpacking tent is not so easy, esp. in the middle of the night which is at this age a bit more likely. So I wanted something a bit larger, but was concerned not to get something so large I couldn’t put it up myself. So I compromised on a 5-person (ha, would require really small persons) tent that I’ll so know whether I manage on my own.

But on the way out of Bass Pro some shorts were calling my name and then I realized my size isn’t going to get much smaller (near my minimum planned weight) and actually having clothes that fit (and snugly at that) would be a good short- and long-term constant reminder of even relatively small increases. Snug pants in the future means a return to fasting, not buying new pants. I was fairly surprised, then when I decided to try a shirt that down three sizes fits, but the real shock came in buying long pants, given I could fit the same dimensions as my college age. Now I don’t believe it – I’ve heard women’s clothes are bigger for the dress size than they used to be and I’ll bet the pants I bought today have undergone the same size inflation and are probably actually at least the next size up (IOW, 38″ is now the “new” 36″). Of course not being much of a clothes person I forgot about shrinking after first wash, but I joked any shrinkage in the clothes is a new incentive for yet more shrinkage in me.

So bigger tent for one reason, smaller clothes for a different (and better) reason. Now I just hope it’s been hot in Wyoming and some of that snow is disappearing.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

