I have a bad feeling about my Wyoming trip – 1

So let’s use a post as a way to force myself to find out what to expect.

  1. the reservation site just has boilerplate info that indicates the campground will open as planned, but does have a phone number. Information: (406)587-9054
  2. the Forest Service page on this campground doesn’t have any recent info, but has two phone numbers: Tongue Ranger District, in Sheridan, 307-674-2600 and reservation service 1-877-444-6777.
  3. the Forest Service page has the following alerts:

Well, that seems to be all I can find out on the Net.

Phooey, I can’t find my Bighorns map (I need to find that) but my road map has the same (307-674-2600) phone number.

I need to try to find my confirmation email (which I need anyway). OK, found it and printing now. Quick scan didn’t reveal any place to call for up-to-date info.

So I guess it’s call the Forest Service.

Found my map, the road to campground is 26. (can ask if this road is open when I call). It looks like about two miles from paved road.

So I guess this is all I can find out, now get on the phone (why do I hate making calls so much, it’s no big deal).

Harrah! I called and road 26 is open to the campground and the campground is supposed to open this weekend.

So the trip is ON!

Now I just have to worry about being too cold (which I can do something about) and now I can get busy and make my to-do list (always extensive) and start gathering all my equipment (take down my new tent which I could just barely put up by myself).

So now I can get moving!

Someday I should think through and post why I hate making phonecalls like this. It’s really so easy.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

