Can we believe anything?!

I’m reading David H. Freedman’s Wrong: Why experts keep failing us–and how to know when not to trust them and boy it’s a bummer. I hope Freedman is basically just putting forth a kind of denialism or he’s basically looking for the exceptions rather than the rule. Now debunking diet fads and nutrition scolds and management gurus and investment gurus is fine with me, because I think what they say is bunk. But, boy, if the scientists are full of it too, my world has crumbled.

This feeling is on the back of some searches I did on Mark Bittman and my use of the term ‘scold’. Now I’m comfortable with what I wrong, but the trash I find with that as search, pure rightwingnut denialism (the equivalent of Sarah Palin’s cupcakes). Whole websites dedicated to eating badly because somehow good eating as another evil government plot to take away our freedoms. Go suck it, libertarians and denialists. Sure, the scolds oversell their case, but I’ll buy what they’re selling any day in comparison to your nonsense on food. Good ahead, exercise your freedom and die from diet related illnesses – no thank you, I’ll exercise my freedom to stay alive and healthy AND a skeptic about too-sure-of-themselves advisers who promote the latest fads.

So what is a middle-of-the-road type like me to do. Surrounding my wingnuts on the left and even worse wingnuts on the right. I just want all the dogmatic extremism to disappear.

So I even wondered why I’ve been picking on lefties of late. And I realized it’s too things:

  1. the right is so horrible, so mean-spirited, so totally wrong, so cruel and just now a pure power-hungry monster that I can’t even listen enough to be outraged. The insane shit they’re doing on abortion now (with the disgusting attempt to rebrand it as “women’s health”) is just abominable my head explodes if I think about it. Or voting rights, sure, let’s go all the way back to Jim Crow. Or budget, sure, let’s trash the economy with discredited austerity theories that were fudged data and mistakes and outright lies. It’s more than a reasonable person can take.
  2. but then the left has its stupid crowd – the whole anti-vaxer thing with RFK Jr. using McCarthy-ish tactics to smear opponents who just happen to be right, the anti-GMO thing (just a EU trade dispute over U.S. patents, as the real issue) nonsense, utterly ignoring all science on the matter and attempting to condemn the developing world to starvation and more poverty (while eating their quinoa and driving up its price just to feed trendy richies in the western world)

Isn’t there any sanity anywhere?

Can’t I believe anyone? Well, I started that – debunking all these studies (which I still believe need to be debunked) but then I see the slippery slope of that where Wrong goes, nothing can be believed, or as House says, everybody lies.

Ugh, my head may not be exploding but it sure is overheating.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

