Just a little footnote

After all the ranting I’ve done at nutrition nonsense but also the silliness of defining “disease” by a number on a blood test (i.e. the stupid way diabetes is measured) I guess I’ve got one test result I can’t hand-wave away. So just to record within 24 hours of the news.

I’ve had hypertension, hyperlipidemia and hyperglycemia – all gone now due to lifestyle changes and help from Nate Silver with statistics that drove my weight loss. Unfortunately neutropenia (cause still unknown) will not be so easy to reverse and statistics and graphs aren’t going to help with that.

Not exactly what I was expecting when I went in for blood tests a month ago to see if diet had worked.

Now what happens?

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a little footnote

  1. dmill96 says:

    What happened was that my neutropenia had been expanded into pancytopenia and now with a known cause, myelodysplastic syndrome (a somewhat ill-defined collection of multiple related diseases). It’s not curable and progressive, IOW, fatal. Now I get to cope with that but the silver lining is now I don’t have to worry about diabetes or heart disease.

Leave a Reply

