537 days and 12,405 miles to go

Converting exercise on machines in the basement to virtual trips (just plotting exercise miles on maps) kept me going during weight loss. Now let’s see if it keeps me going for the rest of my days. I’d already started this grand tour, trying to hit all states of the lower 48 with my exercise bike miles converted onto a route. So here’s where I am now (4594.4 miles already ridden with 149.9 on real bike):

bigUSA-1

The blue markers indicate end-of-month milestones, initially along the western part of my route (Omaha -> Sheridan -> El Paso -> LA ->SF -> Salt Lake -> Portland). The remaining 12,405 miles to go is the route shown. I expect to be somewhere in eastern Montana or North Dakota by end of the year, unless my panctyopenia gets worse and especially I start losing red cells and thus won’t have the energy for this. But meanwhile I’m hoping for a Lance Armstrong effect (maybe I’ll end up doing EPO as well) of increased red cells due to training (uh-hum, drugs).

I have a bunch of other virtual trips I’ll bore you with over time, esp. as I’m now concentrating more on stationary bike than treadmill (my previous virtual trip, see post, was hiking the John Muir Trail).

I’m glad I did the tons of exercise (all part of my weight loss plan) because that has really helped my fitness, now off BP meds but maintaining athletic level of heart rate and BP, and later off statins (involving the blood tests that detected my neutropenia). So I feel good, in fact, the best for decades. Too bad it has to come to an end, but probably this improved physical condition will turn out to be helpful for me.

I’ll do a separate post on weight results (given I already passed both the 52 weeks milestone and my minimum weight), but interestingly now I’ve deliberately drifted back up and probably will gain more. I actually need some fat reserves for treatments that lie ahead of me.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in the end and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 537 days and 12,405 miles to go

  1. Pingback: First virtual loop completed, Atlanta to Pacific and back | dailydouq

  2. Pingback: 18 months of virtual cycling | dailydouq

Leave a Reply

