536 days and how much solo geodashing

I took off early today to go get four geodashing points. I plan a joint trip with deodasher later this month but just wanted a solo trip. Normally I enjoy solo trips with the melting away of monotonous miles of driving acting to soothe me. But today it was hard, for the first half of the trip, to avoid thoughts about how my remaining days will work out – do I have steady decline, at some point being reduced to being unable to do things like geodashing, or will I get lucky and upside-down hockey stick, i.e. little change and then fall off the cliff. Hopefully the latter. So it was a reasonable day for dashing (nice fall color) but it wasn’t the same as previous solo trips so now perhaps trips with another will be better to help avoid obsessing.

To my surprise I actually passed the milestone of scoring >= 2000 points in geodashing with the last dashpoint I did last month (didn’t realize I was that close to 2000, I remember exactly where I scored my 1000th point). So technically today was the day I went over 2000. Only four people have done that. However the person at the top of the list has 3900+ points (and I now realize mysteriously dropped out with only vague explanation, I wonder if that was health reasons) so it’s very unlikely, even if now MDS gives me reason to maximize geodashing, that I’d ever be #1. So I can’t quite get to that level in anything I do, close in some areas, but never quite enough for #1. Oh well.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in the end and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

