The party has to be over

Since my health issue skyrocketed to the forefront of my attention my weight loss plan ceased to be the main subject of my posts. I passed the 52 week point a couple of weeks ago having hit my low (and target) the week before. In the visit to my doctor that revealed my new issue he had suggested that at my age I might be a bit too thin since us old farts can get sick and stay sick longer than the kiddies and thus a little extra reserve of fat was fine.

Then I got him with the nuke that made weight loss and blood sugar irrelevant.

So at least one thing about my diagnosis is that I’ve had lots of fun eating the last few weeks, making up for that year of starvation.

But I’ve gone too far and since losing weight (with normal activity) will still be hard I have to halt this climb, as shown below:

weekly53-trends

Even though the regression line shows small drop the colored lines are various time period moving averages and show the latest trend more clearly. The horizontal scale is days (since about 18 weeks ago) instead of calendar dates to make the graph work better. So you can see I hit my minimum about 45 days ago and have been climbing since.

Now looking at this in a broader perspective,

weekly53-perspective

The red markers (and regression line through them) shows my steady loss for the first 24 weeks. Then it began to go bad. Next is the southern vacation in the spring, big gain but followed by rapid loss, then trip to Wyoming, and finally back on the wagon breaking my target (180) for just a couple of weeks starting at week 45. Then boom, my recent relapse starting 4 weeks ago, taking me back up to where I was at the end of my steady decline. IOW, for all intents and purposes I’ve been “flat” for 30 weeks (which by itself is not so bad). And my (now) 70lb drop is pretty good and accomplished my goals and my current weight is just at the normal/overweight boundary (far from my old over/obese boundary I was on a year ago).

And November is going to be another vacation month, then there are the holidays, so Nov/Dec will not be good months. So I need to halt my increase (even reverse it a bit) and then try to prevent too big a climb by end of year. But realistically I suspect I will have net increase over that time period so here’s my prediction (and goal)

195.0

by 1Jan2014.

Presumably my 30Dec oncologist appointment may give me a clue what happens next. Having an extra 10lbs is OK (possibly facing chemo or even longer hospitalization for stem cell transplant) but it’s also possible that weight loss will be difficult in the future (i.e. too weak for much exercise), so now is a good time to get my discipline back. I’ve had lots of goodies since this whole health scare blew up so, fine, that’s my celebrating (strange to be celebrating), but now the party is over.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment, prediction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The party has to be over

  1. I am very sorry to hear about your illness. I hope you will fill yourself with nutritional whole foods that optimize your ability to fight back! Wishing you the best.

    • dmill96 says:

      Thanks for the wishes. It was quite a shock – spend a year getting trim and fit, then thinking about adventures I’d do, and something out of left field hits me. But my fitness kick will come in handy for my future, plus as long as I don’t have symptoms allow me to do some fun things.

  2. dmill96 says:

    I slightly beat my prediction which is a surprise. The holidays represented a serious relapse (lots of eating) but I managed to reverse a little of it in the last days of the first week in January, to 193.4 (instead of my predicted 195). But all this means is now I have two months to go to get back to my previous lows (oh joys, lots more starving to do).

Leave a Reply

