494DTG: Back at Starbucks (reluctantly)

I thought this might be my first Starbucks post since learning of my MDS but it appears I did another one before vacation. Amazing, 36 days just flew by so this really feels like how much time disappears quickly when there isn’t much left.

I won’t bother with a weight plot today since there was only small improvement (probably just water weight loss) but Thursday (Turkey day), Friday (Husker’s Day) and Saturday (end of season football) blew up my discipline, so despite > 1000 calories burned each day on bike, at best I can say my weight was flat (after big gain on Thursday). So I have to get serious and get back on the discipline bandwagon. Here’s the bad news, folks – unless you’re hungry most of the time you’re going to gain weight. All these “nutritionists” who have bogus plans and reassuring promises (oh, just change your ways and you’ll control weight and feel satisfied – right, believe that and I’ve got a bridge to sell you). So I promise that next Sunday I’ll get a new post with positive results, I PROMISE.

Despite the fact that Starbucks has made their retail locations uncomfortable for long stays I do find it a refuge to come here (now very crowded due to small space left for people, some corporate marketing flack in Seattle has a spreadsheet on square footage vs sales and decided to tweak up profits a bit by decreasing space; I hope the flack is wrong and gets burned and Starbucks realizes it needs to provide for customers, not just get them in-and-out as fast as they can (maybe OK for fast food, but not for premium coffee prices)).

The point is I’ve had trouble (not a lack of ideas) motivating myself to write posts without this “quiet” time at Starbucks (despite my anger over being exiled from my home as my days countdown, I should have that as refuge not an entertainment center for the trespasser). I think it’s that I have too many things I can do when I’m at home and thus posts are harder to face (plus the lack of privacy makes posting risky (of being discovered)). But I think it’s mostly just a mood thing, here at Starbucks I have completely different mindset and so posting is easier.

It seems I’m just going in circles on this post, however – no real point, but I think that’s just lack of practice, plus my temptation to continue doing all the song downloads.

I’ve gotten into freakiness of buying lots of songs at iTunes (which is a pain to use, BTW, are you listening Apple). I’ve started carefully recording the songs that Pandora plays that I like and so have a rather long wishlist. But doing the mechanics of downloading, plus manually updating my Excel inventory (so I can de-dup) is a bother and a slow process, esp. as iTunes rarely has the song I want, but has lots of alternatives so that’s a bunch of listening to pick a close equivalent. Anyway with a big backlog to grind through (only one knocked off my wishlist in about an hour when I was first here).

Since I’m just off in random directions anyway, I’ll record a strange happening. While crunching through special Kindle offers on the Fire I downloaded The Maid: A Novel of Joan of Arc by Kimberly Cutter (I think because it was free on the lending program, not because I had any particular interest). Just something to read while on exercise bike. Then last night when I should have been going back for more exercise I was channel flipping and saw The Messenger: The Story of Joan of Arc. How’s that for a coincidence, or IS IT A MESSAGE to me. I mean, what are the odds, that in two days I’d have two encounters with a subject that is very unlikely to catch my attention. And of course it’s a story about faith (or more likely insanity). So is there hidden meaning in this? In my last days am I getting clues to trigger a conversion? That actually struck me as a thought last night, a bit scary one actually (the idea that a message could be planted in my consciousness by an invisible power is a bit disconcerting). But I think it is the usual situation of circumstance – these happen, but in the right mindset we see pattern and meaning in random occurrences. So here’s the thing – I’ll need a few more hints before I’m convinced but of course Pascal’s Wager is lurking in my mind, as maybe this is the only warning I get.

Well, how’s that for wandering all over the map.

p.s. It appears my post about Pelini, while receiving no comments, certainly got a bunch of hits which means people are looking for info on that topic but found my rant worthless. Blogging continues to have some strange interactions.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment, the end and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

