487DTG: Order is restored

With the announcement of a new successful gene therapy for CLL and seeing my sister-in-law in her second hospitalization my mind has drifted back to my MDS after being able to forget about it during vacation, so I’ll start my post with my countdown. Another countdown is that it’s 22 days until I see my oncologist again and I wonder if there has been any change, but right now I don’t feel it, so I’ll just go with the existential facts (no symptoms).

The football season has (almost) ground to a halt with some restoration of order. The incredibly bad B1G conference has been put in its place. The mediocre and overrated OSU and the incredibly overrated Braxton Miller have demonstrated that piling up win records don’t mean much when you play mostly doormat opponents. Sparty was hardly a potent team (esp. with haphazard offense) but was able to dispatch the ever-cautious OSU in its ground-and-pound game (hardly different from the Woody Hayes days). So no national championship for B1G which matches most analysis of where football power is today. The only question is whether B1G will decide to ever play modern football.

I really don’t care much about this but I’m just so sick of mediocre teams (and overrated coaches) demanding (and getting, at least here) so much publicity for playing old-fashioned football. B1G is good at coming up with plenty of easily beatable teams so even modest teams can generate good records. Meanwhile in Pac12, SEC, and Big12 any contender for national championship has to face some credible opponents and not just cost through a bunch of meaningless wins. I wish the Huskers would give up playing so many doormat teams early in the season so they actually can sharpen up the team for when it needs to play capable opponents. Or at the very least, since they will clobber the doormats anyway, that at least the Huskers practice what they’re bad at (and thus get better) rather than just running up the score with their most reliable play (and also wearing about players, all these injuries come mostly from meaningless games).

So now, except for the orgy of bowl games this season crawls to a halt and Nebraska can go back to thinking about ice and snow and bleak conditions until next fall.

BTW: speaking of bleak – Alexander Payne’s movie Nebraska is actually pretty good. It’s spooky how much it really captures the true nature of (most of, the actual rural stuff, while now a smaller fraction of population, still the “soul” of the state) Nebraska. The film was also interesting to me since it starts in Billings Montana (the place I lived before moving here the first time). And as for the driving scenes, I’ve done every mile they were on and know them well, which of course is still a shock to my true California self who never, in a million years, would have expected to experience what in fact the twists and turns of fate have brought me for the last 15 years.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment, the end and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

