Back to Bread: Not bad for first try

Despite my lifelong klutziness with braiding I’ve always wanted to try challah, even if I only do the simplest three-strand version. So I grabbed my trusty Peter Reinhart Artisan Breads Every Day and off to the races. Here’s my result.

challah1

Clearly I don’t have the braiding part down quite right nor getting the loaf straight, but not bad for a beginning (not at bread, but at this kind of shaping).

I was surprised cutting into the bread that the strands basically meld together and slices but from this loaf hold together quite nicely. The eggy nature of the dough comes through clearly in the taste. While this loaf has some of the same nice properties as my brioche using eggs vs butter to enrich the loaf is clear. These slices toast up very nicely (in new toaster oven, a bit too bit for normal toaster) and are excellent without butter, but some strawberry jam goes well. Others in the household managed to make some good sandwiches and the bread held up to hand consumption.

So I call this a success and look forward to trying it again, maybe getting really gutsy and trying a five-strand version. By the way, I only used half Peter’s recipe quantities as I really only wanted one loaf.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to Bread: Not bad for first try

  1. Veronica says:

    Nice loaf! I give myself a pat whenever a new bread recipe turns up well. U deserve that too. Tks for stopping by & the like 😀

Leave a Reply

