I hate news videos on the Net

Have you ever read some news article from a legitimate news site and then there are a bunch of links in the article to other news stories that look interesting, so you click the link and you get some dumb video, of course preceding by a bunch of ad cram-down? Of course you have. Did you like that?

As bandwidth of the Net has increased, albeit only slowly today, the content providers are increasingly converting their content to videos. I dislike this for two reasons: 1) it’s just a way to force us to listen to ads since banner ads are so easy to ignore, and, b) it’s a dumbing down of content – too busy to read or too jaded and want glitzy video spam.

Not only do the videos represent a way to force me to view ads, but they also force me to obtain content in a purely sequential way the author wants me to consume it AND it’s a slow way to get content. With pure text I can skip ahead, reading what I want much faster, or even look at the lede and decide the article isn’t worth reading. But no, with a video, the content provider demands my undivided attention before I even find out what the story is about. I waste minutes on a story that I could have quickly parsed as text in seconds.

Have we become so dumbed-down now that we can’t read anymore? Has the personal narcissistic craze of selfies and videos so taken over our brains this is the only way we can consume content? Fine, people can choose what they want, but I’m sick of videos, most of which are talking heads (after the blinding ad) with low-information content stories. As was once the slogan, where’s the beef?

Unfortunately the trend toward videos seems to be nearly universal, at least at all the pop news outlets. More and more the ONLY story I can get is a video. OK, folks, at least clearly label videos as videos and don’t try to fool me into thinking it is a conventional story. Or, for sites that only have videos – say so (what are you trying to hide). And for the news aggregation sites, stop linking to videos or at least label them as such.

If I want a video, I’ll ask for it.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in rant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

