Back at Starbucks – 11

I thought I might be done with this post thread but here I am at Starbucks yet again, exiled (somewhat suddenly) from my home where I was busily and eagerly working on a personal programming project. I hate be interrupted in mid-thought when I’m working as my stack of ToDo’s evaporates when I have to switch gears. And seating arrangements and Starbuck’s environment are not very conducive to programming so I guess I’ll find other things to do, my usual routines here.

For several months now the cause of my exile has not been present, but now it’s returning. As usual there is the steady creep back to the previous expected conditions of entitlement of the person who wants the services of my house. Of course that person would love me around, as another cook and waiter, too, but I’m at the very least not going to do that routine.

Meanwhile this situation gives me a chance to catch up on some posting. The good thing about being stuck at Starbucks is that it’s a good place to work on posts and so not being here has been one of several factors why my posting has been so light lately. The others are: a) my obsession with getting weight back under control, so much of my day is spent on exercise machines, b) home is not a good place to have the privacy to do these posts, c) my programming projects consume most of the rest of my available time. Hard to believe, that retired, I don’t have time for a few posts. Of course I’ve been posting other places as well.

And soon it’s about football season and I’m stuck with season tickets (yet again, not my choice, hopefully most will get sold this year) and that really blows the weekend. Or, of course, geodashing trips that eat up at least one weekend. And at the September will be another vacation. It seems like just yesterday I was on the road, but in fact it’s now about four months ago. I really wish I could do a lot more trips, especially solo, but it seems I have the pattern now, no (long) travel in summer or winter, fall is for “family” travel, and spring is my only chance for solo trips. Given I just turned 68 there won’t be many more opportunities for camping trips so I hope I can get a few more while I’m still able.

I’m not going to post my weight charts since I pigged out yesterday and blew my record (even after hitting new (recent) low during the week). The tyranny of my data collection is an occasional discouragement but I know today’s number was semi-bogus so I’ll just keep going and focusing on longer-term, but I was thinking with the interruptions of vacation and football games it’s going to be hard to hit my target. Sure I could try to maintain eating discipline (exercise is almost impossible) during these other activities, but that kills some of the fun so therefore I end up blowing a full week of progress just by having a little fun.

But enough of this, more posting to do other places and usual Sunday online chores.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

