Going to Boston soon

After dithering quite a bit I finally decided to attend the Centennial Celebration of the founding of the MIT chapter of my fraternity (Kappa Sigma) in a few weeks. Plus I hope to get an extra day and try (most of) the ascent of Mt. Washington, reliving another memory.

In general I don’t like reunions and have avoided them like the plague. In fact my 50th high school reunion was just held this summer and I did invite one attendee over for dinner who swore I/we (plus my wife was in same class) missed a great event. But even with that enthusiastic description I wasn’t sold and so don’t regret not going.

But in a couple of years I have my 50th MIT reunion which to me is a bit bigger deal, plus obviously a once in a lifetime event. But due to the circumstances of my undergrad days I actually had few friends outside of the people in my fraternity (which, then, was across the Charles and so isolated from other school social events).

So when I got the invitation to attend my fraternity’s Centennial that sounded more promising. Not only might I know more people at that event, but the obligations of brotherhood in a fraternity require everyone to be on best behavior and be civil and so forth. Even the young current members will be pleasantly attentive to us old farts because that’s their obligation. So this is more likely to be a better social event for my taste. And it’s not so packed agenda so there will be lots of time to see the surrounding area.

I have been back to Boston multiple times on business trips (only once for vacation) but I was usually too busy with work to do more sightseeing, so this trip fits the bill. And it settles the issue of attending 50th reunion (of course this event may reduce my aversion to reunions and I’ll attend that one too).

So soon off for hopefully a fun trip. Then a week later is our fall vacation so I get to throw the canyon country of Utah and later Santa Fe in for an interesting contrast to the intensely urban area of Boston. Now the question is: can I still drive like a maniac Boston driver?

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

