Time to get back on the wagon – 4

Well it’s been about a month since my last boring post on weight so I guess it’s about time for an update. It’s been tough staying on track since every Saturday since a month ago I’ve been doing something where Saturday is my “bad” day and I eat more, especially stuff with salt (like popcorn) and therefore I often bounce up by 3-4 lbs in just one day (so-called water weight due to the salt). But during the weeks I’ve made some progress so I can show a few updates. Here’s the updated version of my chart I showed a month ago:

weekly110-onthewagon

So I’m making progress but slowly (was hitting 2lbs/week, now down to just 1.2lbs/week due to those “bad” Saturdays). At least the green markers show I’ve gotten out of that range I had during the middle of the summer, plus recovered from two vacations. Unfortunately with holiday events approaching it’s going to be hard to make much progress so I’ll be lucky if I can hit my target (180) before end of year.

So let’s look at this over a longer timeframe:

weekly110-sundays

The blue markers are “official” weighins (on Sunday) and the red markers are the missed weightins but with an interpolated value. The green dots are my 104 week moving average, but the more interested one is the purple line (quarterly, 13-week, moving average). You can see the two clear minimums I hit with subsequent (although fortunately not major) gains. I’ve turned the corner since my last “time to get back on wagon post), but nowhere hear enough to get back down to my target. But the good news is that after losing 65lbs I’ve now spent over a year in just a 10 pound range, not too bad at maintenance. But due to these strange 3-4 lb gain in a single day I’ve never hit a “wet weight” (i.e. eating full meals days before) of my 180 target, so while I’m on this kick (plus winter time and thus no vacations to interfere) I really want to get that purple line down to 180 (meaning I’ve held that level for 1/4 year). I’m on track to do that but it won’t be until about February or March of 2015 where I have a chance to hit it.

Here’s a more clear graph showing what I’ve done since Apr2014 with a curve fit that fits my intuitive notion of what my “discipline” has been:

weekly110-sinceMay

This graph covers the daily data I have since May2014 (the gaps are vacations). I was holding around 185lbs before my month-long camping vacation. Upon return I kept up exercise but didn’t exercise “dieting” (did try to control eating, however) and so I got that drift upwards, then about week 96 was where I went back on dieting, with only a little improvement, then the next gap is two vacations that blew that up, but since week 104 I’ve gone back on full dieting and maximum exercise (with those bad Saturdays) but clearly having the trend in the right direction. I’ll continue this (with holiday meal exceptions) through end of year and hopefully can start 2015 near my planned target (180) and then can hit about 175 (“dry” weight, thus 180 “normal” weight) and hold that into spring. We’ll see.

So I won’t bother your, Dear Reader, with this boring stuff for another month or so.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time to get back on the wagon – 4

  1. Pingback: Time to get back on the wagon – 5 | dailydouq

Leave a Reply

