Write! Don’t think too much

Thinking is, of course, good, but maybe thinking too much is bad for blogging.

I’m amazed at these bloggers, some of whom have real lives, who dash off multiple posts per day every day. How do they do it? It’s not lack of source material, for most of them, but sheer energy and hours.

Most, but fortunately not all, of my posts are composed as I type, as I suspect is the case with most bloggers. But every now and then I want to think about the post content, maybe even do some research, maybe try out a few lines of prose in my head – not a bad idea, probably I’d write better posts if I did more of this.

But too much thinking is a bad thing. Earlier this morning I was really cooking on my next planned post. But then there were other things to do. And later when I thought about it again, I started expanding it, but also trying to compose today’s post in the context of a multiday thread that’s been in my head.

But guess what, I mostly lost it. Even I have some life and other things to do so I got off on something else and then both my momentum and the specific ideas I had evaporated.

So that’s my point now, both to myself and as an observation for others – when you’ve got a post spinning around in your head WRITE IT. This stuff ain’t literature or poetry, no need to fuss over every little bit, so get to it. Who knows what the next hours or day will bring, but quite possibly not a better post if you delay.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

