Whoops, WordPress.com stats disappear

WordPress.com provides some access to stats about various measures and analysis that can come from server logs but they don’t provide direct access to those logs. So I just discovered today that they only provide monthly stats, apparently for 30 months as stats for the earliest months of this blog are now missing. I can’t blame them, that’s a lot of data to keep, but it’s a surprise that the data can just go poof. I might have recorded some of the information in my own files if I’d known this was going to happen.

So if any of you out there have a blog getting on in its third year, start thinking about saving some of the information in your own files, ‘cuz it’s gonna be gone.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whoops, WordPress.com stats disappear

  1. Are you sure about that? My blog is 35 months old (started April 2012) and I can still see the stats going back to the beginning. If they are going to disappear, I would like to print them out though.

    • dmill96 says:

      Using the traditional stats (bar graph for months) I have lost my first few months. I assume the bar graph just has a maximum number of columns. Now perhaps the actual numbers are somewhere else and I just don’t know how to find them.

      And with the “new” stats, with the years bar graph I do get all my stats for 2012, but I can’t get the monthly breakdown.

      • If you go to stats, and at the bottom click on “Visit the old stats page”, you can see the bar chart with all your days on it. Then you click on ‘summaries’ at the top right of the bar chart, and it will show you stats for all months in numbers. Does that solve your problem?

        • dmill96 says:

          Yes, thanks. Before seeing your reply I happened upon the tabular presentation of the results and found my older data that doesn’t appear on the graphical presentation.. The graphical version clips off my older data, presumably to just keep the graph manageable.

Leave a Reply

