Garmin PC software SUCKS!

I’m really pissed at Garmin. If you’ve followed my blog you know I do all sorts of things with tracks I collect on my Garmin handheld. But when I destroyed my old computer I lost my old (and working) copies of Garmin software. That’s where I uploaded and manipulated my tracks.

Well getting a new computer means getting new software. I already knew, since we’d gotten a dashboard GPS (from Garmin, naturally) that they replaced MapSource (mostly used for handhelds) with BaseCamp. Well, BaseCamp blows, in two ways: 1) it’s totally unnatural and unintuitive to use (and I have LOTS of experience with mapping and GPS software, so it’s not me), but that’s not the worst part, 2) Basecamp just will not find my eTrek device, ever after multiple insertions in USB (Mapsource was flaky on this too, but at least after a couple of tries it finally connected). No matter which order of turning things on or plugging them in, NEVER recognizes my device. So that means no uploads of tracks (and even when I imported tracks I uploaded on my old computer manipulating them in BaseCamp was awful).

So I went looking for an installer for MapSource. At the very least this is confusing. In the way back days when I bought my first GPS (the original eTrek series) I had to also buy a 4-CD set for maps, but also the installer for MapSource. That’s what I’ve been using all these years.

Now MapSource is pretty crude and as I mentioned it also sometimes would not connect to my handheld. But after kicking it around a bit I could get it to work.

So even though MapSource is obsolete (and at one point was made free) you can’t get it from Garmin. All the searches pointed to a download that is really something else that sorta has MapSource in it, so I got something, but, blah, it won’t connect either.

That means, no track uploads and that really sucks.

As it was I waited years, after switching from serial GPS to USB GPS before Garmin finally supported USB and then badly (how hard can this really be, folks, like it’s a standard and zillions of things connect through USB).

So their support for THEIR products that you pay hard cash for has always had awful support to connect to computers AND now doesn’t even work at all. BaseCamp was actually a step backwards from MapSource (as primitive as it was), but not being able to use my device is really bad, sorta like the 3-4 years when only serial GPS was supported and computers didn’t have serial ports any more and Garmin didn’t even make serial GPS anymore, so when you break your handheld (due to a lousy poorly seated connector) and buy a new one, then you no longer have even the primitive features of MapSource.

COME ON. GARMIN. I’ve bought four handhelds from you and one, top-of-the-line dashboard unit and your software, on the PCs, SUCKS. (The device software is OK, maybe that’s your problem, you can only code for devices and don’t understand PCs).

FIX IT. I WANT MY TRACKS.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in rant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

