Got both ends of Wabash now

Today I popped over to Council Bluffs, to Bass Pro Shops, to get a pair of Keen Newport sandals. Some people swear by sandals as superior to boots, at least for relatively smooth trails without full backpacking load. So I thought I’d give it a try. So to test my new sandals I headed to the nearest part of the Wabash, the very start of the trail in the northernmost part, so here’s the bits I’ve done now, with both the southern and northern terminus covered, at least a short distance:

Wabash3

The tiny magenta dot (at southeast end of trail) is the one mile I did at Blanchard, just near the Iowa/Missouri border but today I did the northernmost part from the parking lot at the trailhead. So now, just in case you didn’t have any other references, this is where the trail goes, just connect the dots!

So with today’s hike I’ve covered 28.7 miles, which is all out-and-back and thus only half in linear distance, of about 14.3 miles out of the 63 mile total, or 22.7% of the entire trail. The northernmost point is N41.21854 W95.81769 and the southernmost point is N40.57923 W95.22459.

What I hope to do soon, with car support is Mineola to Malvern which will fill in a big chunk of the middle of the northern part of the trail – not sure if I’ll use sandals or boots. But I need to get some miles since it is warming up and soon will be too hot and muggy for any more hiking for about four months. So hopefully my tracklog starts filling in.

It’s nice to have a fairly good trail so close to home but nonetheless it takes a bit of “expedition” to do any more segments.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

