Filled a gap in Wabash Trace

In my quest to complete every foot of the Wabash Trace I went back over some old ground in order to fill a gap in my walks, basically northwest of Mineola to complete the Trace to Council Bluffs as shown below (the blue segment):

Wabash8

While it’s somewhat difficult to see on this image the blue segment overlaps the previous magenta tracks on each end (slight color difference). This means I have only the small gap south of Silver City to have completed the northern section of the Trace almost all the way to Imogene. Filling in the one northern gap is going to require covering much of the same distance but this is alright as I get to see the Trace under different conditions. When I did my first segment, back in March, all the plants were dormant and now they’re fully green, in fact, some plants have grown over 6 feet tall.

I was going to claim I’d done 50 miles of the Trace (79%) but that seemed way too high and then I realize my spreadsheet, while I convert to one-way distances, doesn’t account for overlaps (for instance, most of this 9.5 mile walk was overlap). I don’t have any easy way to compute that but I’ll go ahead and make an estimate: about 38.6 miles (unduplicated) so around 61%.  My total distance is 78.5  miles so I’m a bit over 200% coverage on the parts I’ve walked. So I have two gaps to fill plus most of the stretch from Shenendoah south to Blanchard (Missouri border) and I doubt I’ll get that this year as it’s now getting too hot and humid for comfortable walking.

Now for a few pictures. Too bad I didn’t take any in March for comparison of how much greener it is:

wabash1 003(cropped,adjusted)

Here’s one of the typical shelters along the trail and (below) the pleasant scene (to west) from it:

wabash1 001(smaller,adjusted)

and the trail itself:

wabash1 004(cropped,adjusted)

and another pleasant outlook from the trail (looks like real “wilderness” but just a pasture of private land.

wabash1 005 (cropped)

 

Apple is running a TV ad of how wonderful movies their cameras (iPhone) take but frankly my pictures (iPod Touch) are pretty sucky and I should have carried my real camera (Nikon) to get some good ones and to show the contrast of how a real camera works compared to the crappy camera in phones.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

