Absurd religious objection to right to die

Well the fundies imposed their religious views on others, yet again, by killing SB128 in California. Where’s my religious freedom (as in freedom from religion) in all this. What about my strongly held views, don’t they count as much as ancient myths?

Do a religion I reject have the right to tell me how I may end my life? It’s my life, not theirs! Why do they believe they get to decide that very personal issue for everyone else? If they want to define it as sin for their gullible members, fine, but they have NO right to define it for me.

This is what is so utterly rotten about the concept of “religious liberty”. It’s never about a believer’s liberty to do as they wish; it’s about believer’s ability to force and coerce their beliefs through power of law on others. This is so insane to refer to this as freedom. They can have the freedom to do as they wish, in their lives, but they cannot have the ability to suppress my freedom.

If I chose to die I do them utterly no harm (in fact, one less anti-theist in the world would be good for their cause). So I sin, that’s my problem, not theirs. And I totally reject any of their premise, especially that a sky-man I don’t believe in wants me to suffer for an ancient sin I didn’t commit (and most likely none of my ancestors did).

So religinuts, keep your hands off my body and my rights.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

