I’m back

Real life has seriously interfered with my blogging for the past few months. Now I hope to return with a new vigor and maybe a new slant, a little lighter, hopefully a bit more engaging, and less rants, although those come very naturally with plenty of raw material and after all what is a soapbox for.

Blogging is probably most useful (to the author) if you really stick to it and constantly work on trying to create interestingly and maybe even original posts. If any readers find these posts worth their time, all the better, but the real point, I think, may be to use this media, say instead of ordinary conversation, to explore thoughts, more slowly and deeply. Writing things down is a different process than day-to-day communication so blogging can be a good direction, even for non-writers, such as myself, to exercise some discipline, even do some research, and horrors-of-horrors even a little editing to attempt to achieve better prose.

As I read other blogs many posts are fairly mundane (though often interesting) material, some people like to expose their personal lives (isn’t that more what social media is for), some people (and I fall in this category) pontificate about something that concerns them or maybe something they believe they can contribute original thoughts. Fine, to each his own, the nice thing about freedom of speech, I get to decide what I’ll speak, you, Dear Reader get to decide what you’ll read.

I haven’t done any of my boring graphs and analysis but just a quick eyeball look at my WordPress stats indicate a sharp dropoff in visits as my post volume went to zero. Previously I’d actually done a correlation analysis, over several years of WordPress data, and found a moderate correlation between new posts and views. This is interesting though as the stats on which posts are viewed seems to be more connected to searches where someone just stumbles on this blog (and probably spends 5 seconds before deciding my posts are useless for whatever they’re looking for).

But my absence for a couple of months has a clear effect and so I guess this means every now some people may look here somewhat routinely. So with that in mind I’ll try to make your visit more useful while I also entertain myself choosing what to say.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in musing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m back

  1. leggypeggy says:

    Glad you’re back. If life has interfered, I hope that it’s at least been interesting life.

    • dmill96 says:

      Unfortunately quite the contrary, although perhaps some lessons learned. And perhaps, while I’ve still got my walking endurance, I’ll manage to make it more interesting. Your journeys are certainly an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

