Some exercise stats

I promised I’d refrain from posts of my boring exercise statistics but, naturally, I can’t resist. As my regular readers know I’m no longer living at my house and so can’t just go down in the basement, for many hours per day, to workout. Instead now I drive, sometimes, to a gym. I don’t mind working out at the gym,; in fact, I’m doing more intense but much shorter workouts. So how does this look in comparison. Well here’s my 2015 “home” data for biking:

2015HomeBiking

That is my cumulative miles of stationary biking vs elapsed day, between 2Jan2015 and 12Sep2015, my last basement biking at “home”. You can see from the sheer density of marker points my biking was common, but the key point is the slope, 16.25miles per elapsed day, which counts any of my gaps (like vacations and such). My actual biking per day I bike is an average of 32.2 miles.

OTOH my gym bike alternates between treadmill days and biking days but that’s about the same as I was doing at home. But I now have enough data for a comparison:

gymBikingTo4Feb2016

First you can see all the gaps (even despite being a shorter timespan) so I just don’t do it as often. This graph covers 8Dec2015-3Feb2016. So there is a gap of about two months where I did no biking of any kind, but furthermore once I started again at the gym my rate, 3.97 miles per elapsed day is about 24.4% of what I was achieving at home, with the easy accessibility to my exercise bike. Wow, that means I’m now doing in a month about what I was doing in a week before! Big drop!

But how about walking. For a while, as the weather was good I sorta kept up walking outside before joining gym, but here again we can see a big contrast.

2015HomeWalking

This covers 1Jan2015-11Sep2015 (my last day at “home”). The total miles, of course, reflects nearly five years of data but I’m only looking at the most recent year. I did treadmill a bit less frequently than biking but still it’s fairly steady data at 1.4miles per elapsed (calendar) day. Let’s compare to gym results:

gymWalkingTo4Feb2016

Again there are a lot more gaps in the data, just fewer days (per week or month) at the gym than when I was at home. However, the number isn’t quite as bad as biking, 0.66 miles per  elapsed day at gym vs 1.41 per elapsed day at home, or 46.8%.

Now to put these in perspective, had I continued at home I’d have (based on 2105 trendline) about, about 140 days since I left home, 2275 more miles on bike (vs 257 at gym, so I’ve only done about 11% of the miles I might have done) and 160 miles of walking (vs 45 at gym, so I’ve only done about 18% of the miles I might have done).

So, IOW, both the gap between home and starting gym and the lower numbers I achieve at gym (which is mostly just due to having a single couple hour visit to gym per day vs many, and shorter session, at home) I’ve only managed to keep up my exercise somewhere in the 15% or so, of what I was doing regularly at home.

What does this mean to you, Dear Reader? If you want more exercise (and calorie burn where I know I’m also around 20% of what I was doing at home) spend your money on exercise equipment, at home, and use it a lot if you want to get maximum conditioning (sheer number of miles) and also calorie burn.

Fortunately, partly due to less eating (bachelor style) my weight has mostly gone nowhere, only a small drift upward. If I have several days of “indulging” (eating like I used to and like to) I spike up a few pounds, but then a few days of semi-abstinence and I’m back down, so the much reduced calorie burn from much more limited exercise hasn’t really affect my weight. And my upper body workouts, which were nothing at home, have vastly improved.

So while I’ve lost thousands of miles of biking and hundreds of miles of walking (and I can feel that, no way I could do as long trail walks as I was doing 5 months ago) I’ve balanced that with a bit more reduced eating and a huge (only relatively) increase in upper body fitness.

There is a claim, by some walkers, that preparing for a long distance walk doesn’t need to emphasize distance (in training) but instead “core” strength (a real catchall and mostly meaningless term). So I guess I can say I’ve done that – somewhat great “core” (and especially upper body strength), but less endurance. So could I really still do a long walk?

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

