1,000,000 pounds moved

I promised I’d hold off on a bunch of boring exercise posts, but every now and then there may be a milestone I’ll want to record. Back in Dec2015 I made my first post on my new exercise kick, strength training, where I was actually surprised how a relatively short workout would lead to such a number.

Now I can report that I’ve moved 1,000,000 lbs. That I’ve accomplished in 44 strength workout sessions (137th elapsed days since starting gym) and as of today I have 45 sessions for a total of 1,038,760 lbs (at least recorded, I have some additional I didn’t note in my log). Sounds like a lot but the real strength kings might do that in a week, but, OTOH, I figure it’s not bad for a nearly 70YO guy who’s never done this before.

My first session that I recorded (and posted) had a total of 14,000lbs and today I did 31,650 lbs, which is a bit under my record of 37,395. I have a somewhat different routine now than when I started so the comparison number (to first recorded session) is 27450 or 96% higher (almost double).  That’s not too bad for 3 months and 45 sessions or a session growth rate of 1.5% per session. But I’m clearly hitting my limit and it’s doubtful I’ll get much more gain. In fact it doesn’t look quite so good over the longest timeframe:

gymStrength-25Apr2016

What the graph shows is that I was pretty dedicated in the beginning, steadily working up to higher levels. But then I began to get gaps (various events in my life that made gym more optional) and then, more of recent, I’ve been all over the place, doing a record high and record low workouts. Simply put, it’s hard to main the discipline on this.

Strength training is no more boring than the other things I do. And I can feel, in my body, some results. But it just doesn’t work as well for me, hard to translate reps on a machine into some kind of goal or sense of progress. Looking at my weakest exercise here’s my progress translated into average weight per rep for each session:

gymStrength-25Apr2016-1

Once again my results have been a bit erratic of late, but really, from the somewhat unrealistic initial low (I was taking it easy) I’ve just barely managed a doubling (on a routine basis), or as the regression line indicates about a 0.4lb/rep gain over time. Not exactly setting the world afire.

And my strongest and biggest gain is about 2lbs/rep, but given that’s on a much higher base it works out the same. So more and more charts tell about the same story, about a doubling (almost any metric) in 3+ months but little more gain of recent.

And it’s that steady-state, just maintaining, that is even hard to handle/

Now I won’t go into other stats in detail, but the aerobic (or calorie) burn part of workouts have dropped significantly since I was doing them at home, when I still lived in house with exercise equipment in basement. I’ve dropped from somewhere around average of 600-700 calories (averaged over every day of the week) to just less than 300 (despite more intense workouts at the gym). I can feel that two ways, about 10lbs weight increase (just not burning enough calories) and much less endurance walking (forget about a long walk when I’ve gone from around 14 miles upper limit (needed about 20) back down to probably 8 miles (although winter cut that some anyway).

So the short answer is the results are mixed: 1) I definitely have improved my upper body strength, 2) I’ve lost some endurance, and, 3) it’s much harder to keep this up.

So I don’t know about you, everyone is different, but I think the best results are, if you can, get your own equipment and do your training at home, even if some days you only do a little (zero at gym when I don’t feel like driving there is a lot worse than when I only had energy/motivation for short workout in the basement). Gyms are fine and offer a more diversified program than you can do at home, but if you’re like me you’ll probably get better results at home.

Now it will be interesting to see if I do a post about moving 2,000,000 lbs which given the growth rate I have seen should be less than two months away. The idea of doing 10,000,000lbs is so remote I won’t even think about it.

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

