Return to dreadful reality

For less than a week I was able to disappear and largely ignore the reality of my own life and, in many ways worse, the reality of my life as a human being in the world. Meanwhile the Trump dictatorship rolled on making horrible appointments while considering even more horrible ones. Dear Leader still has his phone and thinks his tweet tirades define truth and for his blind followers it does. Scientists are beginning to analyze how Trumpkins will destroy all the world not just the world for half of U.S. citizens. But now I’m “back” (at least to a residence where my mail arrives) and it’s worse than when I left. In a twist on the “you can’t go home again” there is no where to leave ‘home’.

Even though Kansas and Oklahoma are even redder country than Nebraska only a few times did I feel the fear I had driving in rural Ohio and Michigan a few months ago. I can do a pretty good job of faking redneck, at least of rancher/farmer style and as I actually do own ranchland now as well as receiving oil royalties I can really pretend to be conventional conservative now that alt-right is mainstream. Scruffy hair and sweat-stained hat and utility clothes let me hide in plain side, although I realized hiking sandals or even hiking boots don’t quite fit. So for five days I was a renegade in enemy country but managed to return with all my body parts intact. But at least I was “free”, on the open road, alone and with enough money to meet my needs. Now I return to a more complicated situation here.

Several times on the trip my communications were limited. One motel’s WiFi didn’t work at all and another one’s WiFi was very slow. Often I was driving out of range of cell towers so smartphone access to the awful news of the world was limited. So in some ways ignorance is bliss. Having fast Net access (here) and time (no rush to get moving on the road) just means I can read more, the rigged press, of course, and get more depressed. Maybe there is something broader about my experience – less communications is better? At the very least less means not knowing about horrible stuff.

 

About dmill96

old fat (but now getting trim and fit) guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now geodashes, drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in comment, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

