Time for a photo

This one is relatively recent in my travels and an unexpected adventure.


This is in the Texas State Park of Big Bend which is west of the US National Park. It’s a beautiful drive along the Rio Grande which is just behind me as I make this shot. We were stopped on the highway for construction and so had some time to get various photos.

Of course there are plans to totally ruin this area with the insane border wall our temper tantrum cheeseface dictator wants, of course, without him ever being anywhere around this area since it’s too dry for golf courses. The Rio Grande is usually in a narrow valley, for many miles, and there is no place to put the wall, except probably right on the road where I’m standing (apparently some treaty, of course Trumpidiot will just ignore treaties, requires structures to be some distance from the floodplain of the river itself). Fortunately trying to build in the  US National Park will require act of Congress to amend the act creating that park and I’d assume even the crazy alt-right Texas legislature might be unwilling to see their park destroyed.

But, perhaps, this area will no longer be visible so I’m glad I got to see it when I did.

When I first moved to  Omaha (from California) winter got to me. So I just kinda randomly tossed all my backpacking stuff in my  car and headed south. I really didn’t have a plan but I ended up at Big Bend. Despite having been born in Texas I’d never been there. I had a wonderful time and talked about it all the time to my wife so when we were doing a vacation through New Mexico we added this drive along the Rio Grande to the trip. We spent the night at the Chisos Basin resort in the US park and watched a fairly tame fox beg for food while we sat outside on an incredibly pleasant night.

This really is incredibly beautiful country but it took me getting used to it since I’m more used to mountains and streams and trees, so desert is a totally different experience.

About dmill96

old fat guy, who used to create software in Silicon Valley (almost even before it was called that), who used to go backpacking and bicycling and cross-country skiing and now drives AWD in Wyoming, takes pictures, studies Spanish and writes long blog posts and does xizquvjyk.
This entry was posted in dailyphoto and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time for a photo

  1. Marsi says:

    “temper tantrum cheeseface dictator” – Good one!

    Beautiful image. Hopefully “Orange Head” as my mother-in-law calls him (I use four-letter words) will be put to a stop before he can create an even greater divide – both literally and figuratively. I’m going to try to get to Big Bend this coming winter just in case he isn’t.

    • dmill96 says:

      Yes, one could use all the negative words and still not have said it all.

      On Big Bend, visiting in early spring (March) especially if it rained much during the winter is best for incredible wildflower displays. The only challenge is that birders like that time too and fill up the lodge and then sometimes spring breakers arrive in March. The NP itself is fantastic but the drive along the Rio Grande through the Texas state park is terrific too. Lodging (or camping) can get a bit crowded so you might want to reserve in advance.

Leave a comment